Highways UK 2018 Starts in

7/8 November 2018, NEC, Birmingham


Download speaker presentations (where slides were used) using the links below. Video for all main theatre and keynote stage presentations will be available shortly

Day 1, 16 November

Session 1: Progress and priorities in the new era of roads investment

Jim O'Sullivan, chief executive, Highways England

Tricia Hayes, director general, roads, devolution and motoring, DfT

Peter Antolik, roads director, Office of Road & Rail

Anthony Smith, chief executive, Transport Focus

Steve Norris, co-chair Highways UK advisory board and former transport


Tricia Hayes, director general, roads, devolution and motoring, DfT

Session 2: Perspectives from the UK's devolved transport administrations

Roy Brannen, chief executive, Transport Scotland

Dr Andrew Murray, deputy secretary, TransportNI

Sheena Hague, deputy director network management, Welsh Assembly

Session 3: Innovations in maintenance, materials, procurement and operational practice 

Dave Wright, executive director for Highways, Kier 

David O'Neil, supply chain director, Highways England 

Alan Taggart, associate director, KPMG

Malcolm Simms, director, MPA Asphalt

Brian Rechere, managing director, Highways and Transportation, Arcadis

Matt Stacey, divisional director, BAM Nuttall

Session 4: Capacity and capability in skills 

Phil Ellis, capacity and capability programme manager, Highways England

Richard Robinson, chief executive EMEA, civil and Infrastructure, AECOM

Amanda Clack, head of infrastructure, EY and President RICS

Sue Percy, chief executive, CIHT

Day 2, 17 November

Session 5: A fresh approach to the roads that matter most

David Quarmby, programme lead, Rees Jeffreys Road Fund, Major Roads study

Martin Tugwell, programme director, England's Economic Heartland Strategic Alliance

David Brown, chief executive, Transport for the North

Maria Machancoses, programme director, Midlands Connect

Session 6: Data as national infrastructure

Shane O'Neill, chairman, Elgin

Nic Cary, head of digital transformation, DfT

Tony Malone, chief information officer, Highways England

Douglas Gilmour, key account manager for TomTom Geospatial & Traffic

Neil Ackroyd, chief technology officer, Ordnance Survey

Panel discussion, no presentations

Session 7: Looking beyond 2020

Brian Fitzpatrick, founder, Fitzpatrick Advisory

Steve Gooding, director, RAC Foundation

Karla Jakeman, connected transport and comms leads, Innovate UK

Russell Goodenough, client managing director: transport sector, Fujitsu

Brian Gash, programme director, Mott MacDonald

Panel discussion, no presentations


Sir Terry Morgan, chair, Crossrail

Geoff Allister, executive director, HTMA



Gold Partners

Silver Partners

Principal Supporters


Media Partners

Lords Taverners